Museum of History of Aguimes
The Agüimes History Museum enables visitors to learn about the last five centuries of the area’s history, from the establishment of the Señorío Episcopal (Bishop’s Seat and estate), following the Castilian Conquest of the island, up until the middle of the 20th century.
The museum is located in a building that used to belong to the Verdugo family, one of whose members, Manuel José Verdugo y Albiturría, was the last Señor de Agüimes Bishop, hence the name of the building being known as Episcopal Palace. Interspersed between the different exhibition rooms and the services provided by the museum, are architectural works, some of which are new, while others have been recently restored.
This has doubtlessly helped to recover the former splendour of such a unique building. In addition, the generosity of the town’s residents in giving away many of the items on display has not only prevented them from being lost but also has allowed them to be enjoyed by everyone.
Permanent exhibitions: Room 1: The origins of El Señorío de Agüimes, Room 2: Land and population, Room 3: Society, Room 4: Emigration and Conflicts, Room 5: Mentality, Room 6: The domestic economy, Room 7: The economy based on farming and stockbreeding and Room 8: (Handicraft industries, handicrafts and trade).Patronato de Turismo
- Created on .
- Hits: 1388